British Rowing :: Courses available

1117 0

Here is a list of courses and information of courses being run by British Rowing & The CPGA

Fixed Seat Rowing Technique Workshop

When/Where

3rd February – Mounts Bay School, Penzance Contact: Helen Bowkett – helenbowkett@yahoo.co.uk
10th February – Newquay Treviglas School Contact: Beverley Davis – davis_beverley@sky.com
17th February – Falmouth Water Sports Centre Contact: Nick Maxted – nickmaxted@fsmail.net
24th February – St Austell College Contact: Rhiannon Halliday – rhiannon.halliday@britishrowing.org
17th March – Caradon Sailing Club, Saltash Contact: Steve Kent – stevelin18@talktalk.net
18th March – Trinity School, Teignmouth Contact – Rachel Holgate – famholgate@blueyonder.co.uk
31st March – Westfield School, Weymouth Contact – Tom Pattichis – tom.pattichis@britishrowing.org

Aim

The workshop covers the key concepts of effective technique, including correct posture and grip, and the correct sequence for catch, drive, finish and recovery/return.

Safeguarding and Protecting Children Workshop

When

Wed 12th May 2010, 6.30pm-9.30pm

Where

Victoria Inn, Roche

Aim

The workshop is endorsed by the NSPCC, and is the recommended training for all Club Welfare Officers, coaches and other volunteers working with young people in clubs. Topics covered include British Rowing/CPGA policies and procedures, CRB checking, and receiving and reporting procedures for child welfare issues within clubs

Cost

£15 per person

Level 1 Coastal Coxes Course

When/Where

Falmouth – February (dates tbc) Contact – Esther Oldrieve – metheven@hotmail.com
Devoran/Mylor – March 2nd/9th/13th/14th Contact: Rob Grose – gdavidrobert@aol.com John Bray – johnbray@metronet.co.uk
St Austell – January 25th/28th, February 1st/4th/6th/13th Contact: Tristan Netherton – tristan.netherton@microtest.co.uk
Saltash – February 20th/21st/27th/28th Contact: Nicola Davy – nicolajdavey@hotmail.co.uk
Tamar/Tavy – March 13th/14th Contact: Carolyn Dawe – carolyndawe347@btinternet.com
Weymouth – January 20th/27th, February 7th/10th Contact: Wendy Pearce – wendyduff@talktalk.net Steve Vince – Dee.Barron@colemaninsurance.co.uk

Aim

This course provides a certificate of competence in generic coxing skills. The certificate is not a formal qualification, however it can be used within a club to provide evidence of general coxing competency, to supplement the club’s own specific training.

Total 0 Votes
0

Tell us how can we improve this post?

+ = Verify Human or Spambot ?

About The Author

No Comments on "British Rowing :: Courses available"

  1. Steve M

    Went to the 3 Feb. Rowing Technique at Mounts Bay Sch. Good course content and plenty of discussion around theory and recommended style! It was interesting to note the input of British Rowing (ARA).There were over 30 club members in attendance most if not all found it a pleasant and useful session. Helen Bowkett was an excellent tutor. Recommended.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *