Newquay Championship Results : 1999

776 0

newquay_rowing_club_logoEach Newquay Champs there is something that you remember: a tight race, a down pour of rain, drawing the same boat twice, riding the waves, but no doubt those who have been around a little longer will remember Golden Gear and the harbour wall – 1999.

Ten years ago during the mens champs, Golden Gear and a Devoran crew had a close encounter with the wall of North Quay. Luckily no major injuries were sustained by anyone. The boat although was a different story, taking the full impact of the wall on her bows, she was mended and has been a very active gig for Helford and when called for at Championship events also.

But the boats that year were pretty new – Dasher (Padstow-1989), Falcon (Devoran-1998), Fly (Newquay-1993), Isis (Hayle-1993), Ryder (Looe-1992), Sowenna (Formally Mevagissey-1991). Golden Gear (Helford-1998) until damaged.

The loan procedure then was much different, boats were selected and called to Newquay, it was a huge privilege for a club to have a gig called. You did not nominate a gig as is the case now.

1999 saw 42 ladies crews, 17 junior and 43 mens crews take part.

The more things change the more they stay the same! A decade on and similar clubs still at the top. All change in 2009?

The 1999 Newquay Championships Results

POSITION Ladies Juniors (U16) Mens
1 Charlestown A Fowey Caradon A
2 Falmouth A Caradon Par Bay A
3 Caradon A Helford Roseland A
4 Mounts Bay A Falmouth Falmouth A
5 St Ives A Hayle Helford A
6 Par Bay A Newquay Devoran A
7 Dart A Dart St Patricks
8 Helford A Polperro Fowey A
9 Fowey A Mounts Bay Caradon B
10 Dart B Looe Zennor A
11 Rame A Truro Rame A
12 Caradon B Zennor Charlestown A
13 Cape Cornwall St Goran Yealm A
14 Newquay A Rame Looe A
15 Tresco Yealm Teign A
16 Yealm B Cattewater Mevagissey A
17 Devoran A St Ives St Ives A
18 Cadgwith A Mousehole
19 Truro Hayle A
20 Zennor A Culdrose
21 Hayle A Cadgwith B
22 Newquay B Rame A
23 Yealm A Falmouth B
24 Roseland A Roseland B
25 Teign Padstow
26 Par Bay B Dart B
27 Fowey B Truro A
28 Roseland B Hayle B
29 St Ives B Newquay B
30 Cadgwith B Cattewater A
31 Mounts Bay B Yealm B
32 Porthleven Port Isaac A
33 Looe Mounts Bay B
34 Hayle B Charlestown B
35 Zennor B Mevagissey B
36 Mevagissey A Helford B
37 Devoran B Cattewater B
38 Helford B Zennor B
39 Mevagissey B Teign B
40 Port Isaac Pendeen
41 Pendeen Porthleven
42 Polperro St Ives B
43 Looe B
Total 0 Votes

Tell us how can we improve this post?

+ = Verify Human or Spambot ?

About The Author

No Comments on "Newquay Championship Results : 1999"

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *